Charles Torgbor

Charles

Name
Charles Torgbor
Home Town
Accra, Ghana
Prior Degrees

BS, Biochemistry
PhD, Biochemistry
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
Kumasi, Ghana

Sackler Program(s)
Immunology
Thesis Adviser
David Thorley-Lawson, PhD

What influenced your decision to pursue biomedical research?

I developed a love for science and interest in cancer after spending my childhood reading mostly science text books from my father’s library.

How is the environment at Sackler helping you achieve your professional goals?

There is a great scientific environment where my mentor and faculty take keen interest in one’s scientific progress and enhancement of scientific skills

What type of positions are you considering after graduation?

I hope to have a scientific position in academia.

Why did you choose Sackler over other graduate schools?

I had two great previous tenures where I encountered a camaraderie spirit between students as well as a fantastic mentor, professor and PI. There is also great scientific interest/input from faculty.

What's your favorite way to relax after classes?

I read articles, books, and the news.

What's your favorite thing about being in Boston and why?

There are a good number of universities in and around Boston. This increases the pool of resources to fall on if need be. Plus, there is a rich scientific field in Boston.

What is your favorite Boston restaurant?

Legal Seafoods

Request a Transcript

Do you need a transcript?
If you have access to SIS  SIS
Alumni without SIS access  download pdf