The State of Women in Biomedical Science Symposium: A Call to Action

Monday March 19, 2018
2:00 PM – 6:00 PM

Free with Eventbrite RSVP - limited space!


Drs. Nancy Hopkins, Vicki Lundblad, Joanne Kamens, Hon. Nency Gertner (ret.)


150 Harrison Ave, Boston, MA 02111
Handicap Accessible

GEO: ,

Directions & Parking

Jaharis Behrakis Auditorium


We are delighted to announce a symposium entitled “The State of Women in Biomedical Sciences: A Call to Action." The speakers will be Prof. Nancy Hopkins, Ph.D., Prof. Vicki Lundblad, Ph.D., CEO Joanne Kamens, Ph.D. and Hon. Nancy Gertner (retired). The symposium will be held on March 19, 2018 from 2-6 pm in the Behrakis Auditorium at 150 Harrison, Boston, MA 02111. The format will be four talks followed by a lively panel, where all four speakers will take questions from the audience. A reception will follow the panel to give opportunities to continue the discussion, to meet the speakers, and for some great networking! We seek: to raise awareness on the progress of women in biomedical research in academia and biotech/pharma. to explore ways to break barriers that are impeding advancement. to engage men and women in the biomedical sciences to make meaningful change. The symposium is made possible by the generous support of The Natalie V. Zucker Professorship Discretionary Funds of the Tufts University School of Medicine (TUSM) The TUSM TEACRS Postdoctoral Training Program ( The TUSM Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology The AACR Boston, Inc. Ruth Sager Memorial Fund of AACR Boston, Inc. The Zucker fund was provided by Dr. Natalie V. Zucker to promote women in science at the Tufts University School of Medicine. Prof. Claire Moore is the current holder of the endowed Zucker Chair. Dr. Moore is a professor in the department of Developmental, Molecular, & Chemical Biology at TUSM, as well as the Director of the TEACRS (Training in Education And Critical Research Skills) Postdoctoral Program. AACR Boston, Inc. is a professional network of cancer researchers (academic and biotech) and clinicians. We are the Boston-area affiliate of the American Association of Cancer Research. The Ruth Sager Memorial fund was endowed by Prof. Art Pardee and seeks to honor an outstanding cancer researcher, male or female. AACR-Boston is a tax-exempt organization under section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code and a designated Massachusetts public charity. All contributions to AACR Boston Inc. are tax-deductible. The current president is Dr. Amy Yee. Specializing in biochemistry, Dr. Yee is a professor in the department of Developmental, Molecular, & Chemical Biology at TUSM.

Contact Information

Amy Yee
(617) 636-6850

Submit a correction to this event

« March 2018 »

  S M T W T F S

You are currently viewing the calendar with some filters applied. Would you like to subscribe to the calendar with those filters applied, or the entire calendar?

Full Feed Filtered Feed