Neuroscience Alumni

graduatesThe Neuroscience Program celebrates the achievements of its alumni. More than 50 students have completed the Neuroscience Program since it was established in the 1990s.

Our alumni hold leadership positions in academic institutions and in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry. Other graduates have gone on to careers in law, communication, and medicine. Use the links below to learn more about our alumni.

Learn more about our alumni and their careers below.


Trainee Year  Current or Last Known Position 
Laura Darneider  2018  Business Insights Analyst, Decisions Resources, Inc
Jennifer Shih 2018  Postdoctoral Fellow, MIT
Jonathan Alexander 2017 Postdoctoral Fellow, TUSM
Elizabeth Hanson 2017 In Transition
Andrew Hooper 2017 AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow, NINDS
Lauren Lau
Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard/Massachusetts General Hospital
Micaella Panessiti 2017 Research Scientist, Zafgen
Julie Hewitt Coleman 2016 Life Sciences Consultant, Putnam Associates
Laurel (Drane) Conley 2016 Product Scientist, Cell Signaling Technology
Laura Wong 2016 MD, PhD, Resident, Plastic Surgery, U California - San Francisco
Jeanine Foley 2015 Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard Medical School
Tyler Hickman 2015 Postdoctoral Fellow, Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary
Jennifer Sasaki Russell 2015 Postdoctoral Fellow, U California - San Francisco
Cinzia Metallo 2014 Medical Writer, Analysis Group; Founder & Managing Director, Biomille
L Ian Schmitt 2014 Postdoctoral Fellow, New York U
Liliya Silayeva 2013 Postdoctoral Fellow, US Army Medical Research Unit of Chemical Defense
Eydith Comenencia-Ortiz 2012 Associate Director, Alliance & Advocacy Relations, Genetech
Joshua Cordeira 2012 Assistant Professor, Western Connecticut State U
Elizabeth Storer Scholl 2012 Contract Editor, Cactus Communications
Seth Wakefield 2012 MS, Clinical Research Associate, Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital
Patricia Goodwin 2011 Postdoctoral Fellow, Brandeis U
Katherine Malanson 2011 High School Teacher, Canterbury School
Christine Graham 2010 COBRE Program Coordinator, U New England
Michelle Tangredi Koutsantonis 2010 Publications Manager, AbbVie
Sarah Teillon Smith 2010 At home


Trainee Year  Current or Last Known Position 
Pamela Harvey 2009 Instructor, U Colorado - Boulder
Vidya Murthy 2009 Senior Application Scientist, Harvard Bioscience
Tugba Bagci Onder 2008 Asst Professor, Koc U School of Medicine
Joowon Suh 2008 Unavailable
Tara-Beth Sweet 2008 Pharmaceutical Sales, Astrazeneca
Lloyd Williams 2008 MD, PhD, Ophthalmologist, West Valley City, UT
Alison Krupin Berger 2007 Science Teacher, Paint Brush High School
Jason Chan 2007 Asst Professor, Biology, Juniata College
Man-Ching Cheung 2006 Clinical Engineer, Brigham & Women's Hospital
Stephanie Radner 2006 MS, Founder, Dedham Natural Wonders
Bikem Akten 2005 Associate Medical Director, Area 23
Tarik Alkasab 2005 MD, PhD, Asst Professor, Radiology, Harvard/Massachusetts General Hospital
Rachel Blitzblau 2005 MD, PhD, Asst Professor, Radiation Oncology, Duke U Medical Center
Christina Kaldany Isacson 2005 Principal, Third Rock Ventures
Julie Kerner 2005 In transition
Yu-Dong Zhou 2003 Professor, Neurobiology, Zhejiang U School of Medicine, China
MS (Peg) AtKisson 2002 Associate Member, Grant Writers' Seminars & Workshops, LLC
Julie Onton 2001 Project Scientist, U California - San Diego
Atsuko Polzin 2001 Head IP, Patent Counsel, Novartis Vaccine
Joan Schein 2001 Marketing & Tech Support Manager, Biochain Inst


Trainee Year  Current or Last Known Position 
Thomas Bozza 1998 Assoc Professor, Neurobiology & Physiology, Northwestern U
Brooke Ligon 1998 CEO, Mitokine Biosciences, LLC
Demian Park 1998 Research Scientist, Synthetic Neurobiology Group, MIT
Yanping Qi 1998 Associate Director, MedImmune
Vijay Thukral 1997 President, Cientive Group
Jasvinder Atwal 1996 MS, Senior Research Associate, Genentech, Inc 
Meredith Levine-Lazaroff 1996 Unavailable
Mary Caggiano Hatton 1994 MS, Adjunct Professor, School of Education, Endicott College
Daniel Cox 1993 Assoc Professor, Neuroscience, Tufts U School of Medicine
Gary Hammer 1992 MD, PhD, Millie Schembechler Professor of Adrenal Cancer, Comprehensive Cancer Center & Department of Internal Medicine, U Michigan
Chitra Suri 1992 Consultant, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
Marjory Schwartz Levey 1991 Senior Medical Liaison, UCB Pharma
Sharon Cooperman 1989 Neurologist, Albany Medical College
Malcolm Low 1987  Professor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology, U Michigan


Apply to the Sackler School


The priority application deadlines are as follows:

December 1: Basic Science Division PhD Programs

February 15: Building Diversity in Biomedical Sciences

March 31: Post-Baccalaureate Research Program

May 1: Clinical & Translational Science, MS in Pharmacology & Drug Development