Microbial Pathogens Faculty

Ralph Isberg, PhD, Program Director - Molecular mechanisms of Yersinia and Legionella pathogenesis


Stephen Bunnell, PhD - T cell signaling and response to pathogens

Andrew Camilli, PhD - Molecular mechanisms of Vibrio and Streptococcus pathogenesis

Athar Chishti, PhD - Cytoskeletal regulation in malaria infection

John Coffin, PhD - Molecular mechanisms of retrovirus replication, pathogenesis and evolution

Ekaterina Heldwein, PhD - Structural and mechanistic studies of herpesvirus entry into host cells 

Linden Hu, MD - Host - pathogen interaction in Borrelia infections

Carol Kumamoto, PhD - Molecular mechanisms of Candida pathogenesis

John Leong, MD, PhD - Mechanisms of E. coli pathogenesis

Michael Malamy, PhD - Virulence factors in Bacteroides fragilis

Joan Mecsas, PhD - Host - pathogen interaction in Yersina

Claire Moore, PhD - Mechanism and regulation of mRNA polyadenylation

Alexander Poltorak, PhD - Genetics of innate immunity

Brian Schaffhausen, PhD - Mechanisms of neoplastic transformation

Honorine Ward, MBBS - Pathogenesis of Cryptosporidium species

Apply to the Sackler School


The priority application deadlines are as follows:

December 1: Basic Science Division PhD Programs

February 15: Building Diversity in Biomedical Sciences

March 31: Post-Baccalaureate Research Program

May 1: Clinical & Translational Science, MS in Pharmacology & Drug Development